A Matter of MY Faith

I typically use my lunch hour to catch up on news around the world, and normally gravitate towards CNN’s website.  Overall, its a decent site on which to enrich your knowledge of both U.S. and worldwide news, with a mix of other information (such as technology, religion, family, etc.) thrown in there for good measure.  As I’ve mentioned in other blog postings, my personality is not such that it prefers to lie quietly and suppress strong feelings on a subject.  As such, you can often find me posting some rather controversial and straightforward opinions on different topics.

Over the span of several months, I have identified disturbing trends in which regardless of the topic there is inevitably a host of misinformed, uneducated, internet trolls who immediately dub your comments a) racist, b) religiously fanatical, or c) politically slanted (primarily accusing you of being a liberal).  On second thought, maybe their behavior really does constitute being opinionated to such an extreme that no other opinion matters.

Often amusing are the individuals who cry “racist” at the drop of a hat.  Interesting enough (given the headlines of late) is the fact that, regarding crime statistics in the U.S. when evaluating percentage distribution across all nationalities for ALL (adults and juveniles) arrests related to murder and non-negligent manslaughter*, the distribution is nearly equal:  48.0% white, 49.7% black.  Within the juvenile category (i.e., arrests under 18), the distribution is slightly higher among blacks than whites (i.e., 45.1% white, 54.0% black), but certainly not much of a significance to warrant all of the “down with racist” remarks and behavior as a result of the George Zimmerman trial, the shooting of 23-year-old Christopher Lane, and the beating death of 88-year-old Delbert Benton.  More importantly, we should be taking a closer look at the conditions, or lack thereof, in which our youth are raised and the crumble of moral and social values within our culture as a result.

Going one step further is the issue of ANTI-religious zealots who, from maybe their own insecurities with religion and faith, attack the religious with the vengeance of a pack of hungry wolves stalking a deer.  One woman, responding to an article related to gay marriage, stated:

“If your going to spout the Bible…. try doing it right. Those of you hating on Christians are doing the very thing your yelling at us about. I don’t see any Christian hating… only stating they don’t like it. Why are YOU forcing it on us. Why not butt out of our lives and let us be. Why do you have to hate on our God, condemn us, criticize us, call us the haters….”

She continues on to quote the Book of Matthew with several relevant scriptures, finalizing her comment with:

“`Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.’  THOSE OF YOU HATING ON CHRISTIANS NEED TO TAKE THAT PLANK OUT OF YOUR OWN EYE!”

My response to her is, “Amen to that, Karen, Amen to that!”

The social demoralization and crumble of what was once a proud America has become such a rampant, putrid plague, an everyday assault on our character, that we have turned a blind eye.  And in so doing, we have essentially thrown up our hands in exasperation and defeat with the same attitude with which parents of today have approached parenting.  Rather than say “no” to the spoiled child and justly punish as befits, we have coddled that child with passivity, rewarded that child with our indifference, and given that child permission to trample over our morals and values.  We have given away our power and have, with disgust, done so without so much as a rubber glove or a jar of Vaseline to ease the pain!

Am I angry?  You BET I’m angry!  And as certain as I am that there will be another tomorrow, there will be readers of this blog post who immediately jump onto their “racist” or “anti-religious” bandwagon to bash what I have to say.  My response to them is this – I have the knowledge that no matter what I must endure, I will ALWAYS have the Lord as my friend and my father.  When I am struggling, I will ALWAYS have his ear.  I need never fear having no one to whom to turn, never need fear the unknown, never need suffer by myself, and never have to worry without the strength of my Lord.  I KNOW what lies ahead for me, KNOW that I do NOT twist his words to condone my lifestyle, KNOW what path I MUST follow, and in this knowledge have the ONLY handbook that matters when parenting my children and choosing right from wrong.

Source:  http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/crime-in-the-u.s/2011/crime-in-the-u.s.-2011/tables/table-43

Leave a Reply

